DNoMac is offline Senior Member

Start personal training tomm....Advice???

I'm pretty pumped, but a little nervous at the same time. This is my first time formally training (trained friends and family), so I was just wondering if anybody had any advice.

I could def use some tips as far as training obese people and older people that have little experience. If you have any tips or links of excercises and routines I could use for reference I would appreciate it. Thanks all!

EastCoaster is offline Banned
    I've spent a lot of time in Ohio, where are you located.

Billy_Bathgate is offline AR Vet / Retired
    obese and old...compound full body exersizes

light weight higher reps

get them good and conditioned first

jchurch190 is offline New Member
    Know these people do not have the will, motivation or the need for the pain we endure (most of them). Bump to the lightweight and lots of reps. Even think about a circuit training routine (total body for heart rate) instead of body part focus.
    Make sure you cool them down to help break up the lactic acid so pain is at a minimum.
    Lastly, if you get a large obese person do not make them get into machines made with few adjustment settings. Scope out the machine settings, long before, you try to put them into the contraptions and expect their body to fit. (Note- problems are most common with old leg machines and machines made for pressing movements.)

Good luck on the first day and watch out for the horny old ladies who will come in just to show you their over tanned, leather like, droopy ass.

SwoleCat is offline AR Hall of Fame
    I'm curious as to how you are starting to train people, but have no protocols lined up?

That just seems strange! It's like playin' in a band, u have a gig tomorrow and are a drummer, but you have no drum set.

Just curious!

~SC~