Anabolics
Search More Than 6,000,000 Posts
Results 1 to 17 of 17
  1. #1
    kloter1's Avatar
    kloter1 is offline Southern Steel Bodybuilding
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Bubba Army
    Posts
    5,821

    Directv question

    ok i am putting a 2nd tv in another room, directv wants me to pay for another receiver($50) and an extra $5 a month. I found some cheap receivers on ebay that come with the satellite card. my question is, if i buy one from ebay do i still need to activate it through my service? or should i just buy it straight from dtv? thanks.

  2. #2
    OGPackin's Avatar
    OGPackin is offline Anabolic Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    South Florida
    Posts
    6,022
    Yes bro you will still need to activate it..

    OG

  3. #3
    kloter1's Avatar
    kloter1 is offline Southern Steel Bodybuilding
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Bubba Army
    Posts
    5,821
    ok. what if i ran a cable from the exisiting receiver to the new tv? i guess then i would have to watch what is already on.

  4. #4
    Pale Horse's Avatar
    Pale Horse is offline F.I.L.F.
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    ACLU headquarters
    Posts
    6,425
    correct.

  5. #5
    OGPackin's Avatar
    OGPackin is offline Anabolic Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    South Florida
    Posts
    6,022
    Quote Originally Posted by kloter1
    ok. what if i ran a cable from the exisiting receiver to the new tv? i guess then i would have to watch what is already on.

    Correct...The reason for the 2nd reciever is so both TV's can watch different channels...Otherwise like you said both TVs are watching the same thing..

    OG

  6. #6
    kloter1's Avatar
    kloter1 is offline Southern Steel Bodybuilding
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Bubba Army
    Posts
    5,821
    ok thanks brothaz. by the way whats up with hacked cards. i hear u get every channel.

  7. #7
    LORDBLiTZ Guest
    Get dishnet. LOL, why pay for TV???

  8. #8
    kloter1's Avatar
    kloter1 is offline Southern Steel Bodybuilding
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Bubba Army
    Posts
    5,821
    hook me up

  9. #9
    LORDBLiTZ Guest
    www.dssevolution.com


    Start there

  10. #10
    OGPackin's Avatar
    OGPackin is offline Anabolic Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    South Florida
    Posts
    6,022
    Directv switched to the new P5 card. Once they did that free Dtv went bye bye... But like LB said Dishnet is still open for now...

    OG

  11. #11
    Polska's Avatar
    Polska is offline Anabolic Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    3,129
    Quote Originally Posted by OGPackin
    But like LB said Dishnet is still open for now...
    Yep... until every single channel switches to nagravision2 encryption. then we'll have to kiss dishnet and all other DVB streams bye bye too.

  12. #12
    Polska's Avatar
    Polska is offline Anabolic Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    3,129
    All that's left after that will be terrestrial and FTA channels

  13. #13
    Be Real's Avatar
    Be Real is offline Banned
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    312
    i used to hack direct tv, whats dishnet?

  14. #14
    aragorn1500's Avatar
    aragorn1500 is offline New Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    27
    Quote Originally Posted by kloter1
    ok i am putting a 2nd tv in another room, directv wants me to pay for another receiver($50) and an extra $5 a month. I found some cheap receivers on ebay that come with the satellite card. my question is, if i buy one from ebay do i still need to activate it through my service? or should i just buy it straight from dtv? thanks.
    If I may put my .02 cents in here: If you decide to buy a used receiver- get the id numbers, if that receiver has a balance or is still in someones name, they might not activate it for you and you'll be stuck with a useless recv.

  15. #15
    LORDBLiTZ Guest
    Not exactly. The N2 stream has been compromised You can't stop Canadian hackers!



    Quote Originally Posted by Polska
    Yep... until every single channel switches to nagravision2 encryption. then we'll have to kiss dishnet and all other DVB streams bye bye too.

  16. #16
    OGPackin's Avatar
    OGPackin is offline Anabolic Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    South Florida
    Posts
    6,022
    Quote Originally Posted by LORDBLiTZ
    Not exactly. The N2 stream has been compromised You can't stop Canadian hackers!
    Well start working on DTV's P4/P5 cards plz....lol

    OG

  17. #17
    Polska's Avatar
    Polska is offline Anabolic Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    3,129
    Quote Originally Posted by LORDBLiTZ
    Not exactly. The N2 stream has been compromised You can't stop Canadian hackers!
    How so... if you're right then that's amazing news and I'll finally invest in a DVB PCI card to stream right my computer. I've been weary bc every sat forum I've read is saying nagra2 hasnt been touched

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •