Anabolics
Search More Than 6,000,000 Posts
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Warrior's Avatar
    Warrior is offline AR-Hall of Famer
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    6'0"/248lbs
    Posts
    7,129

    Mixing PC Memory

    Can you? And will the operating system have perforance for the faster stick... or do they all have to be the same speed?

  2. #2
    DevilsDeity's Avatar
    DevilsDeity is offline Anabolic Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Pittsburgh
    Posts
    2,325
    some will mix i think 100 and 133 will but it will only run as fast as your slowest dimm

  3. #3
    Warrior's Avatar
    Warrior is offline AR-Hall of Famer
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    6'0"/248lbs
    Posts
    7,129
    Quote Originally Posted by DevilsDeity
    some will mix i think 100 and 133 will but it will only run as fast as your slowest dimm
    Thanks - thats what I figured. Is there somewhere in Windows XP, Norton System Works, BIOS or any other place that displays the memory speeds the system will support?

  4. #4
    DevilsDeity's Avatar
    DevilsDeity is offline Anabolic Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Pittsburgh
    Posts
    2,325
    the bios might, other then that your gonna have to look at the mother board manual or if you know the make and model of the mother board you can look it up online to see that memory it takes

  5. #5
    Warrior's Avatar
    Warrior is offline AR-Hall of Famer
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    6'0"/248lbs
    Posts
    7,129
    Quote Originally Posted by DevilsDeity
    the bios might, other then that your gonna have to look at the mother board manual or if you know the make and model of the mother board you can look it up online to see that memory it takes
    It was my first PC - Mac up until then. I bought a new 2.66 GHz Pentium 4 from someone... got no manuals. I am planning on some upgrades for it but want to wait on the motherboard until more info on the new DDR2 memory slots and 64bit CPU's is available this summer. So I just want to max out the memory capabilities and change the HD to a Raptor 10,000 until then.

    I'll check the BIOS...

    Looks like it could be burried somewhere in the System Info app too...

  6. #6
    Dally's Avatar
    Dally is offline The Dally Lama
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    FULLY NUDE!!!...call me!
    Posts
    3,734
    getting a RAPTOR drive... hmmmm is someone a wee bit "biased"

    ahaha

    take care buddy.

  7. #7
    Warrior's Avatar
    Warrior is offline AR-Hall of Famer
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    6'0"/248lbs
    Posts
    7,129
    Quote Originally Posted by Dally
    getting a RAPTOR drive... hmmmm is someone a wee bit "biased"

    ahaha

    take care buddy.
    The Raptor 10,000 is pretty flippin fast, fastest available today - it's either that one, or one of the DiamondMax HD's with the 16MB buffer...

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •