Polska is offline Anabolic Member

Got offered a possible position as bouncer/doorman

A local bar has a security position open, and I know the DJ so he has basically put in good words for me.

I am supposed to go meet the head of security there on Friday.

I have a great full time day job (I am self employed) and I make good money, but I wanted to try this just to get some experience in a different area and try something new. I have zero previous experience bouncing.

This is a bar with a good reputation and a more mature crowd... so stabbings, shootings, etc are not common there.

Should I take up this job if they give me the OK Friday? My relatives hear horror stories about a guy getting thrown out then coming back with 50 guys after the bar closes, etc.

Opinions would be great. Thanks

MuckDog is offline Senior Member
    ive bounced, been a bar tender before...ect....and they are cool jobs. different but u deal with the same shit so to speak. bouncing is ok - you meet a ton of people of course and most of the time people wont mess with you - depending on the place u work at and your demeanor/presence. just dont be a dick and you should be fine

SwoleCat is offline AR Hall of Fame
    If it's an upscale place as you described, I say yes.

The old adage about people coming back w/tons of homies, well yes it happens I am sure, but you can avoid that. If you have to force someone out, just clock his ass so hard that he doesn't remember who (what) him him.

You also give yourself a chance to show of your hard work @ the gym w/tons of ladies who are ALREADY intoxicated, so you don't have to worry about gettin' them buzzed to loosen them up.

Seriously though, an upscale bar most likely won't give you the "50 of the homies" situation. Your chances of having to do that are slim, and if it happens I doubt he'll come back w/more people.

~SC~

chest6 is offline Banned
    Quote Originally Posted by SwoleCat