PrairieDawg is offline Senior Member

how do you guys do it?

I just can't seem to find the motivation to make it to the gym with my new job. I've been working as a welder for 6 months now and we do shift work (10 hour days 4 days/week. one week 6am-4:30pm, next week 4:30pm-3am).

It's been really hard to get into the habit of going to the gym with alerternating shifts. When I work mornings I can hardly get any sleep the night before cause shift work has fuked me up. Then when I get off work I'm so damn tired from working all day on 3 hours sleep and inha.ling that shit doesn't help.

Then when I work evenings it's easier but still really hard to get up and go before my shift starts. If I'm lucky I can make it to the gym 3 days a week.

It seems like when I can make it 4 days a week (I'd rather be going 5) it doesnt make a difference anyways because shift work has been wearing on my body so much I can't gain a pound.

By the time the weekend rolls around I'm so depressed that I missed most of my workouts that week I don't even wanna go to the gym. I just want to go blow off some steam with my friends.

I'm sure I'm not the only one with a problem like this. How do you guys do it? I'm used to 9-5 jobs. I've been working out since I was 17 and I've never been this inconsitant. I figured I'd be used to shift work by now but it's just getting worse.

G-Force is offline Anabolic Member
    work, eat, train, sleep - repeat

i dont work at the moment but that is how it used to be for me

i'd be up at 7am, get home at 9pm (after the gym) eat, prepare my food for the next day then go to bed

but on the weekend i got drunk and fell over

24labor is offline Anabolic Member
    I dont work a lot here at school but I know I work later at night after class and I lift right after class ends so I get the gym and class done before work. You just gotta find whats right I make it my main task to work everything to fit-class, gym, eating, work.

PrairieDawg is offline Senior Member