Terinox is offline The One & Only

Body Building and Contact Lenses

Hay ya'll,

I got fitted for contact lenses and all that stuff, it's been ordered and I will be getting them in early this week. I have never used contact lenses before, and quite frankly, I have to admit, it's kinda freaky for me, putting something into my eye. When I was at the optomitrist, he put in contact lenses into my eyes, and well, he did them for me (instead of doing it myself, it was for testing), anywho, I felt really freaked out and could barely keep my eyes open (i was sweating and shaking!!!). My sister who has had contacts said that's normal for the first time, you get used to it and all, anywho, here is my question:

How many of you wear contacts and how many of you wear them WHILE working out? I'm worried that during my workouts they might pop out, cause sometimes you strain yourself, and your eyes, squinting and the whole deal, you know what I mean. Should I take OFF my contacts while I workout? Working out is the only real major athletic thing I do, so it's the only part of my day (5 days a week) that I worry about.

This is something new for me, contacts that is, so i'm kinda "iffy" about the whole deal.

Thnx a lot,
    T.

samoth is offline Member
    Leave 'em in; nothing to worry about bro. And you'll get used to touching your eyes in time

King Samson is offline Associate Member
    I never had a problem even in BJJ class. They are pretty well stuck to your eyes.

samoth is offline Member
    Actually, now that I think of it, I have never had a contact 'pop' out for the six years I've been wearing them... nor known anyone else who this has happened to... maybe it's just one of those 'myths'

jleighty17 is offline Associate Member
    its harder for the soft ones to pop out but i have had friends just be walking around and a hard one come out whenever they get to dry they can come out.
    JLI