Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    BigGreen is offline Anabolic Member

Favorite Book/Book that changed you

Okay, due to school, and despite the fact i'm studying primarily literature, it seems that an overwhelming majority of what i read is nonfiction. In fact, even outside of school most of my pleasure reading has become non-fiction - either essays, analyses, etc. The closest i came to reading good fiction is reading essays on the classics. So, i'm looking for some suggestions as to what works of FICTION have resonated with you in an especially meaning way. No James Joyce recommendations, though, for a variety of reasons. Whether it's a classic like the great gatsby or a book no one has really heard of, I'm open to any suggestions, as I desperately need something of value to stick on my reading list that doesn't come from the traditional avenues and channels (ie, my classes and professor suggestions).

KeyMastur is offline VET
    Great Expectations - just like the movie though, plus you might have read it in school already.

My all time favorite - Where the Red Fern Grows

I LOVE Where the Red Fern Grows!!!! That and "The Lion the Witch and the Wardrobe" were my favorite books when i was a little kid. As far as great expectations goes, I actually haven't read it in some time, so it would make for a good read, but I just came off the pickwick papers and our mutual friend within the last few months, i kind of want to get away from Dickens, and I guess any and all british/european lit in general (also read High Fidelity and About a Boy, so i'm spent on England). I'm specifically hoping for a good american post-wwII novel...I read Joe College by the same dude who wrote election and LOVED it. Really, i'm hoping to find a diamond in the rough, so to speak.

Decoder is offline Banned
    Any bruce lee book.

kc
    kc is offline Female Member