bedrocked is offline Junior Member

anyone really good with cars? (mechanics?)

i'm having starting problems with my 98 lexus es300. when i turn it on, the engine starts up but doesn't turn over (i.e. revs up then when rpms drop to 0 and engine shuts off). i have to give the car gas for it to turn over. anyhow i really know jack sh*t about cars so was wondering what it could be. i don't want to show up at the dealership/mechanics and have them tell me it's something it's not. any help would be much appreciated. thanks in advance!

bigal81 is offline New Member
    Hey bro im not a mechanic but.......i know enough. Sounds like some sort of fuel problem. Fuel pump, fuel filter,Or possibly A bad fuel injector. Hey might wanna check your spark plugs also. Theyre cheap and fast to install. Let us know what it is when you find out cuz i wanna see if im right.hehe. Good luck bro.

Al

Juggernaut is offline AR Jester
    I'd have to say it has something to do with the fuel as well. But with all the computerized components in the new cars today it could be something to do with the computer. But from what you described it sure sounds like fuel is not getting to the injectors or is clogging up. When was the last time you had the injectors cleaned?

Quote Originally Posted by bedrocked
    i'm having starting problems with my 98 lexus es300. when i turn it on, the engine starts up but doesn't turn over (i.e. revs up then when rpms drop to 0 and engine shuts off). i have to give the car gas for it to turn over. anyhow i really know jack sh*t about cars so was wondering what it could be. i don't want to show up at the dealership/mechanics and have them tell me it's something it's not. any help would be much appreciated. thanks in advance!

Bro, considering it's a Lexus, I'd take it to the dealer... too much electronics in there to mess around... it can be so many things.