lxorl is offline Associate Member

buying a motorcycle... questions

Im new to the whole motorcycle thing, but I think i would like to buy a used one. My first choice would be a harley. Second a honda VTX 1300.... but they are both way out of my price range.

I live in a college town, so im guessing i can pick up a used sports bike for a reasonable price. i would like to keep it between 2k-3500. I know that is pretty cheap.

I just want some advice, recomendations.... from experienced riders. any thoughts ?

thanks

MMC78 is offline Senior Member
    My advice would be to start with a small engine bike, 500ccs or less. It will be much cheaper to insure. You can get a used japanese bike for under 2k.

After you have more experience, then I'd try for a harley or high performance sport bike. Check out a motorcycle safety course. http://www.msf-usa.com

I already have taken a safty course through Harley davidson....

500 might be hard to find... everything im coming across is 650 or up.

Quote Originally Posted by MMC78
    My advice would be to start with a small engine bike, 500ccs or less. It will be much cheaper to insure. You can get a used japanese bike for under 2k.

After you have more experience, then I'd try for a harley or high performance sport bike. Check out a motorcycle safety course. http://www.msf-usa.com

mammoth is offline Member
    Good luck finding a harley in that price range. In that range you are more than likely going to be stuck with a Yamaha or Kawasaki. Check out http://www.cycletrader.com/

I never said i expected to find a harley in that range, in fact i said i was looking for a sport bike because that was about all i could afford.

Quote Originally Posted by mammoth
    Good luck finding a harley in that price range. In that range you are more than likely going to be stuck with a Yamaha or Kawasaki. Check out http://www.cycletrader.com/

mammoth is offline Member
    Quote Originally Posted by lxorl