T-101 is offline New Member

Insulin and Diabetes...

To all those with diabetes:

Around 2 years ago (when I was 23 years old), I began to occassionally have "numb muscles" (ie, hard to stand up because leg muscles are like not as responsive) every now and then. Only a few months ago have I connected this to my diet. It seems that whenever I eat high-sugar foods, after a few hours/minutes, I get these "attacks" I described. When I started lifting 2 months ago, it seems these attacks suddenly vanished, and I will feel normal the whole day and night even after drinking sugary juices and sweets.

During the last 2 weeks, it seems these attacks are again beginning, though milder than before. They seem to occur when I eat lots of high-glycemic index foods (like white enriched bread, etc). Doing some cardio (ie walking on a treadmill) once the "attacks" occur, an hour or two after eating, seem to make me feel back to normal after a few minutes.

Do you think this sympton can mean I have diabetes (Type 2?)? When I was a teen, I would have regular medical exams, and in all of these, they show that there's nothing wrong (good bloodwork, etc). Now that I'm in my 20's, is it possible to suddenly get an affliction like diabetes?

viper is offline Member
    The condition could be metabolic or nutritional….things that could possibly cause this are : diabetes (like you mentioned) which can occur at any time, but easy to check for by your md…..hypothyroidism (check your thyroid)….alcoholism (are you a drunk, LMAO)…malnutrition (you said your diet improved and it got better)….b12 deficiency (goes along with the diet comment)….or if you were taking vitamins and overdosed on pyridoxine (vitamin b6)…….these are a few things that it could be…..

my best advice is to go to your physician, and tell him/her the problem and have blood work drawn…..the blood work will rule out a lot of possibilities…..viper

gixxerboy1 is offline ~VET~ Extraordinaire~