brian s is offline New Member

Ironman training without losing all the muscle

Hello:

I have spent a decent amount of time just reading all your posts, and learning from you all. I have a question though. I was thinking about running an Ironman triathlon in March of this years. I have been lifting for about two years seriously, and I have put on some much 6' 185lbs, I can't gain weight really easily. I know the distance training is going to kill my muscle mass, but I want to try to keep as much as possible.

I am 100% natural, only took creatine once for like 3 weeks, and the **** was awsome, felt like I was on the sauce, would love to go to the dark side eventually. Anyways, I still plan on lifting 1.5 hours /day with my same program, and doing the distance training. What do you guys think would help, very high protein and carbs?? supplements?? special vitamins (hehe)??

Lemme know what you guys think, I currently eat clean, about 250grams of protein a day, mostly whole food, some protein shakes. I'm in college and am going to have to really get dedicated here, I will have alot of time on my hands though because I only have class for four hours, three days a week, so I am open to any ideas.

DocHoliday is offline Senior Member
    for one wrong forum

Also 1.5 hrs of training? Too long IMO. 45min to 1hr of heavy lifting. Add abs/cardio then maybe 1.5hrs.

You're doing IronMan...

sorry bro in order to be competitive in that sheet you have to loose size to become you're 'natural' balance of stamina/explosion. Each person is different, but that race requires a well balanced individual, not a body builder.

You want to look good? You want to be big? Or do you want to win this fawking Ironman?

Everything is about sacrifices and priorities. It's up to you.

Anyway, you need simple carbs (dextrose) for immediate consumption after a workout, and complex carbs for the intense training in your other meals. Protein you'll need at a consistent amount through the whole day.