Thread: ephedrine help

angelxterminator is offline Senior Member

ephedrine help

ok, i know that ephedrine and pseudoephedrine are both chemically almost exactly identical, but what i'm not sure of is biological activity differences between the 2 of them. would pseudo have the same beta-2 agonist properties as regular ephedrine that help with weight loss? please just give me a direct answer, it would be GREATLY appreciated
    i'm an analytical chemist,,,,,, not a biologist

Ive got some good info in one of my text books but it pretty much says the same thing as this:

Introduction to ephedra and ephedrine alkaloids

The Chinese botanical ephedra, or ma-huang, is sold as a dietary supplement in the United States. Ephedra is the common name for three principal species: Ephedra sinica, Ephedra equisentina, and Ephedra intermedia [2]. The active compounds in the plant's stem (about 1.32% by weight) are the phenylalanine-derived alkaloids ephedrine, pseudoephedrine, phenylpropanolamine (norephedrine), and cathine (norpseudoephedrine) [3,4].

Alkaloid content and composition vary by species and growth conditions [5-7]; total alkaloid content can vary from 0.5% to 2.3%. Ephedrine, the most potent alkaloid, can account for up to 90% of the total alkaloid content and pseudoephedrine can account for up to 27% [3,8,9]. The pharmacologic activity of an ephedra sample depends on its alkaloid composition. North American ephedra species, such as E. nevadensis (known as Mormon tea), contain little or no ephedrine or other alkaloids [10].