Amanda is offline New Member

Exclamation Rational benefits of using steroids?

I am a grad student doing a research project on anabloic steroids . I need to come up with some legitimate benefits of using steroids (fro argumentative purposes). I am looking for information from valid sources (MDs, PhDs, organizations, etc) that steroids may not be that bad after all and should not be out-lawed.
    Also, if any of you have an opinion about legalizing steroid use again and why, I would greatly appreciate it. Please help.
    Thanks,
    Amanda

TNT
    TNT is offline Retired Moderator

Cool Welcome, Amanda . . .

A good place for you to start is http://www.SteroidLaw.com - it will give you a legal background on anabolic steroids (AS), as well as some background philosophy from a lawyer's perspective. You'll also find a background article that includes a perspective on doing AS for medical purposes. While your focus may be geared toward weight lifters and bodybuilders, the related areas of law and medicine (including medical uses of AS) will provide good support.

Needless to say, you will also find lots of references in any reputable database. I'm sure that this is a well-researched area (thanks, in part, to many grad students in areas ranging from sports psychology to physiology), and I'd recommend that you go to any of the standard medical and psychology search engines, as well as databases related to the National Institutes of Health. Among the many statistical studies, I'm sure you will find several more anecdotal studies with the type of opinions you seek.

Also, do not neglect some of the AIDS-related boards out there. Of all general (non-bodybuilding) populations, the most discussion of AS tends to take place among persons who are HIV positive or have AIDS (because steroids are key to avoiding what used to be called "wasting syndrome").