DoctaBig is offline Member

Prolactin Research...

I'm studying neuroleptic medications in my pharmacotheraputics class right now and i came across a little piece of information that intrigued me that i never thought of. Here's the low down.

Neuroleptic medications (conventional anti-psychotics (not atypicals)) work in part by antagonistic effects on DA (dopamine) receptors. There are 4 types of dopamine tracts in the CNS, here they are are with their respective general purpose:

Mesocortical - Cognition, communication, social function
    Mesolimbic - Arousal, memory, Stimulus processing, Motivational Behavior
    Nigrostriatal - Control of muscle movements
    Tuberoinfundibular - Regulation of Prolactin release

When patients are on long term neuroleptic medication used they can have symptoms of hyperprolatinemia; this due to the drug's effect on the Tuberoinfundibular tract causing modulation of Prolactin release. When patients start exhibiting these symptoms they are put on one (or a combination of) 3 different medications: Bromocriptine, Cabergoline, or Amantadine. Those first two should seem very familiar. These drugs work by exhibiting AGONISTIC properties on dopamine receptors.

The last drug in the list, amantadine, is one that i have not heard around the boards as a potential candidate for prolactin induced gynocomastia prophylaxis and I'm curious as to why. Amantadine is very cheap (compared to cabergoline and bromocriptine) and from my current knowledge does not have any effect on androgen receptor up-regulation as B-6 does. Amantadine also has another potentially beneficial effect, It possesses antiviral properties. It is also commonly used for treating the common viral flu. Therefore it may possibly help keep the test flu away???