Thread: Shoulder injury

Ianto66 is offline New Member

Shoulder injury

hello guys, just by way of introduction my name is Ian and I'm 38 years old, I am a serving soldier (UK) with 20 years service and am reasonably fit, however I don't do weights or build. The problem I have is a long term (15 yrs) right shoulder injury, which was caused by playing rugby, there is a lot of socket erosion due to recurrent dislocation, tendon and ligament damage and to top it all off I've just had the cartlidge removed. I was speaking to a friend of mine, who is a PTI and he suggested that steroids might be a possible answer to my pain and muscle wastage in and around my shoulder area and gave me your web site address. I need to try to build up muscle on the shoulder/chest/shoulder blade area to try and pull my arm in tight to my body, and bear in mind I can't lift heavy with the shoulder. I have a few questions I'm hoping someone can help me with :- and please excuse my ignorance
    1. What sort of area in my shoulder would I need to inject ?
    2. What steroids in particular would be needed ?
    3. Will I need to inject straight into the muscle I'm looking to build up, or does one injection work on the whole body ?
    4. How many injections/courses would I need ?
    5. Would I have to do both shoulders to stop looking lopsided ?
    6. Are there any side effects god or bad ?
    I think that about covers it. I havn't asked a doctor for advise just yet, but if I decide to then I will. Thanks in advance for taking the time to read this post and I look forward to your comments.

all the best
    Ianto

daem is offline Anabolic Member
    Ah, the dreaded rotator cuff/shoulder injury...the bane of anyone who works their upper body...

I'll answer your questions sequentially so it makes more sense to you.

1.) Just injecting into your shoulder won't do anything for your injury.