Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    STAYHUNGRY is offline Associate Member

Tips for newbies going to Mexico

I am a long time veteran of Mexico and have seen things change a lot over the years. While I am not going to give names, places,etc...I just want to tell all newbies to this game to be VERY careful when going to a foreign country like Mexico to buy gear. I'll give you just a few of the common scams that are going on as we speak so you can watch out for them. I've seen several newbies trapped in these in the past two weeks alone.

1. Scam #1-The pharmacy/corrupt police connection. There are certain pharmacies in certain areas where after you purchase your gear, they call a corrupt cop they know, the cop shakes you down, get's everything he can out of you and gives a kickback to the pharmacy for their help. No matter whatever ANYONE else tells you, buying gear in Mexico is ILLEGAL!!!!! Yes it is tolerated and if you know the game, you can do it, but don't be confused by boards or street hustlers in Mexico that tell you its legal. Corrupt cops can, and do shake down ignorant newbies daily, steal their money, their gear and sometimes worse. About ten years ago when I first went to Mexico, I ignorantly walked into a pharmacy, asked for Dbol (Ludwig Heun from Germany for any old timers that remember), and the pharmacy called a corrupt cop, who told me I broke the law and at gunpoint took me to an ATM and drained my account. And it's MUCH worse now. I know the game, been there done that and have people there now for me, but WATCH OUT!!!!!!!