Thread: what is vitex?

xman is offline Junior Member

what is vitex?

What does everyone else think of longer cycles with shorter breaks? How long and how short? I generally will lose everything in 2 months. It doesn't matter if my cycle was 8 or 12wks. How long can you do long on short off before you do permanent damage? What about 6wks on 4wks off for someone like me with low test levels? One last thing, If I do go on hormone replacement therapy, does that mean I would have to stop cycling completely?

you post does not match its title.. or it does not make sense>>

androplex is offline Donating Member
    I dont know shit about vitex bro but if you are doing HRT from what I searched on the open internet it says NOT to do Vitex with HRT. See below. I have no experience with it just dont want you to hurt yourself. Maybe others on the board can offer more info.

Safety*:
    Side effects are rare but mild gastrointestinal upset and skin rashes have been reported. Vitex should not be taken during pregnancy or with hormone therapy. Active Constituent*:
    The entire extract is considered medicinally active, which implies a cooperative set of components in the fruit.
    General Information*:
    Vitex, also commonly called Monk's Pepper, acts as a stimulate for the pituitary gland to produce more progesterone and less prolactin. It does not contain hormones, but only stimulates the pituitary gland.
    Many women with menstrual cycle irregularities do not produce enough progesterone during the second phase of their menstrual cycle (luteal phase). This means that estrogen, the dominant female hormone in the first phase, continues to dominate in the second phase leading to a number of menstrual cycle abnormalities. It is also frequently found that in women with these problems they have a high concentration of prolactin. High levels of prolactin in latter phases of the menstrual cycle lead to breast tenderness, and is associated with infertility.