johnsomebody is offline Senior Member

Customs Holding My Package

Ordered from an online overseas site and got an envelope from an international delivery company saying my package is being held by customs and they (the delivery company) need me to call (or fax) and give them my phone number AND my Social Security number. I also got an email from the company I ordered from saying not to worry, the deivery is fine but customs needs my SS number. The delivery co. gives me a week to call with the info or it will be sent back.
    This actually seems like a decent company but I'm a newbie at this.
    My first impulse was to say forget it, don't call but now I'm wondering if it's really a problem.
    Anybody know?
    Sorry I'm so clueless but this is my first time.
    By the way, this board is the best -informative and fun.
    Thanks!

This post was edited so the graphic johnsomebody used would appear correctly. (It had previously appeared as a URL.) None of the original text was changed.
    Last edited by TNT; 05-09-2002 at 08:39 PM.

Bro
    Bro is offline New Member
    dont call bro...pretend you dont know anything about the package since the only thing you will be doing if you attempt to claim the package is identifying and implicating yourself and proving you have knowledge of the contents which, assuming it's gear, is illegal

Big Rush is offline The Juice Man
    Bump...I'm interested as well

TNT
    TNT is offline Retired Moderator

You are being baited...

Welcome to the board, John. Or is it Some? Oh well, Mr. Body...

Is it really a problem? Yes.

Chances are that the package was X-rayed by the delivery company or the shipper was known to them, or that it was randomly opened during a Customs check.