Mike Dura is offline Senior Member

My Lament on current gym culture

First, I'm a 36 year old newbie (to this or any forum) so I'd like to say hello to everyone. I'm assuming that many of you are younger than myself so I'd like to share some recollections of the good ole' days and than bitch a little.

Although I've only been training the last three years (I've fallen back in love with the lifestyle), I originally started back in 86' at a basement gym called "South Shore Fitness" in Oakdale, NY. Unlike the gyms of today, it seemed that 75% of the people down there were serious bodybuilders. Steroids were considered supplements and squat racks abounded (there were 7 and this place wasn't all that big). On top of that, this gym had all the appropriate calf machines (standing, donkey, seated). There was no gym ettiquette that frowned upon the growls and grunts that came from a man straining under the leg press to clear a half ton and there was plenty of pranksterish, playful stuff going on between the members. It seemed like a boys club and it was fun and the outside world (e.g., politics) never intruded on our little world. These were golden times! I was naive to think they would never end.

You'll never see a gym like that these days. I've been everywhere just to find a gym that has the proper calf equiptement. I found only one but the weight stack was inadequate. And you're looked at like you're a freak if you should let out some unseamly sound in the squat rack. I'm not trying to draw attention to myself but I can't find a way to follow ettiquet in "the whole" with 405 on my back and I'm starting not to care anymore anyway.