all_around_athlete is offline New Member

Cyclist/Triathlete, Speed & Mass

Here's the story:

I have been lifting weights for about ten years. Applied some Tren in a DMSO solution when I was WAY younger than I should have been. Learned a lot about different things from friends that were into body building. And as such I don't carry with me most of the myths that most endurance athletes hold regarding AAS.

The last couple of years I have been moving toward endurance sports. I just started cycling, I did my first Half Ironman this year, I have done 8 or so other tri's, and 5 marathons. I am continuing to progress on each of these fronts, but I am hitting a place where I either lose weight (I am 170lb 5'8" now, I was down to 155lb right before my marathon), and strength and get faster, or I increase my lean mass and strength, and... get slower.

I know of people that are much faster than I, that are also bigger and stronger. I am not looking to look like my bodybuilder friends. I would like approach something closer to David Goggin's athletic abilities. I want to be wicked strong, and still be able to run a 17 minute 5k. I don't have the medical resources to do EPO and have liver enzymes checked on a regular basis.... Are there any recommendations on something that will (1) allow me to improve my performance, and (2) allow me to achieve the appearance I am looking for?

Any refs would be greatly appreciated. The cycling/marathoning/triathlete communities would rather ignore the existence of AAS (or play some moral high ground), and most of the educational lit I find on steroids is geared toward the bodybuilding community. Thanks for the help.

Ahhhh - I should probably include something regarding my workout routine eh?