Followyourdreams is offline New Member

How is this program for first cycle? It's a 5x5 (hypertrophy is main goal)

PLEASE READ ENTIRE POST BEFORE ANSWERING. Thanks a lot guys.

SO HERE IS THE RUNDOWN OF ME AND MY BACKROUND AND PLEASE I AM NOT HERE TO BE JUDGED PLEASE JUST GIVE ADVICE! (I understand my decisions are stupid but i'm going to run this next cycle regardless of what anyone says on here so PLEASE please PLEASE stay on topic about my question i'd greatly appreciate it. I am not a novice when it comes to lifting and I understand the risks outweigh the benefits.

I started lifting at 14 and began using steroids at 20 years old. Since 20 I have ran a few cycles of simple test E 500mg/week for 12-14 weeks. at 23 I had to stop lifting for an entire YEAR and lost all of my muscle and strength and basically have to stop from scratch at 24

So I went from 6'2 220 pounds to 6'2 170 pounds and weak as hell. (same bodyfat %)

Now i'm back and ready to get back into shape with nothing but hard determination

SO here is my question BECAUSE I am weak and my lifts are lagging major would it actually be BETTER to start off with a 5x5 program such as this even though my main goal is in fact hypertrophy. Correct me if i'm wrong but i'm thinking a program such as this would actually benefit me more even for hypertrophy than say a 5 day split working each muscle one day a week. (again PLEASE correct me if i'm wrong. I have already started this program and made my first injection but it's not to late to start a basic 5 day split.)

I am running test E 500mg/16 weeks.

So here is a program I found that I modified a bit.

This is a 5x5 that follows a ABA BAB format that is a Mon Wed Fri 3 days a week

Day 1 - Workout A/next week B
    Day 2 - Rest
    Day 3 - Workout B/next week A
    Day 4 - Rest
    Day 5 - Workout A/next week B
    Days 6 & 7 - Rest

Workout A

Exercise Sets Reps
    Squats 5 5
    Bench Press 5 5
    Bent Over Row 5 5
    Barbell Shrugs 4 8