KAEW44 is offline Senior Member

MMA and body building

I have been training in Muay Thai and Brazilia JJ for about 3 years now, in the past year i have been competing in quite a few MMA events because i just love that sport, its the best fighting sport out there for sure and requires the most skill and well rounded athletes. In the past years i never had time to lift weights because all the training was cardio-based and core strength (push ups and sit ups). In the past 6months though i started to lift weights, i lift in the morning so that i get plenty of time before i train MMA late in the evening, this gives me enough time to eat and rest so that i'm not doing both trainings close to eachother.
    In the 6months of training i got very defined and ripped, and i am much stronger grappling and striking, i havent lost any flexibility or speed because i am still training in MMA very hard 5days a week. The only problem i have is that although i am increasing weights and getting stronger....i am not getting bigger at all!!! The reason is because i am doing a lot of cardio to stay in shape because i compete almost every month in either kickboxin, grappling. MMA fights are harder to find but i always stay in shape because anyone that ever faught knows you dont want to gas out in the ring!!!
    If anyone trains the same way, please give me advice on gaining lean muscle while still being able to train hard.

BOUNCER is offline Retired Vet
    Well I probably don't have to tell you that the increase in muscle mass will most likely put you into a different weight catagory, are you reay for that?. If you want to go up the weight and not sacrifice your cardio your going to have to get in more calories, its as simple as that I'm afraid. Do a search for some threads by a past member, sadly he's stopped posting, he's 'tapout'. he had some posts about competing in MMA events and bodybuilding.