Thread: Suggestions

J-Dogg is offline Anabolic Member

Suggestions

Been a fan of Boxing my entire life and jumped on the MMA band wagon a little over a year ago.

I have no fight experience what so ever, other than just wrestling around with friends (which I always win!).

I’m building a garage though, and basically was just going to use it for a gym. Weights in the front, and bags and mats in the back, I can park outside.

I want to train some BJJ, Boxing and MT. I was going to take some starting classes to get the basics but then do the rest on my own with friends.

Just looking for suggestions on training and what equipment would be vital.

Thanks for any input!

D-Bo Dre is offline Member
    Mmm, how bout the basics... Medicine ball, jumpropes, mirrors (shadow boxing), pull-up bars, focus mitts, a slam-man, heavy/speed bags, T-bar, hand wraps, neck strengthening headgear, timers, bells, whistles etc.. Good luck, sounds tight

zimmy is offline Anabolic Member
    boxing and mt you might be able to do with friends...but bjj you can't do unless one of you is learning from an instructor. Also...you are only as good as the people you spar. BJJ is a chess match... So you will never get good if someone's not there to push you.

thecivilizedanimal is offline Senior Member
    YOU'LL NEVER LEARN ON YOUR OWN,

you can train physically but you'll never learn to fight.

you need to train with people, with varying styles as well ( unless you want to train in a specific discipline )

you'll never progress on your own

boxing750 is offline New Member