yannick32 is offline Associate Member

Talking weight training does make a difference in stricking and takedowns

I was 16 when i first competed in tae kwon do, i started training that same year, i got into serious training at 18 lifting some pertty heavy weights and still competed, my bodyweight did change at all but people i sparred with told me that my striking power was quit amazing.

Last week i was fooling around with a guy at my job, he plays hockey and he likes to shove people when he sees them in the corridor, i shoved him back twice and put him against the wall, they guy didnt move at all. I really felt stronger since starting training a lot heavier couple of weeks back.

Anyone notice that there is a big difference when you weight train and the striking and more?

Box This* is offline Associate Member
    Yeah i suppose you theory is right you would have a hard strike but its more the question could you keep it up...I train amatuer boxing and advise them not to do any wieghts but when they reach 17 i feel they should decide for them selves what to do...dont get me wrong i do wieghts my self but i do not compete any more so i can give my self some leaway to making my body look a little more cut ...But yes deffinatly you would have greater striking power and after looking at a couple of you posts and the mma you do then yes it might benifit you...but as for boxing i realy dont think heavy wieghts mix..just body wieght exercises.

USN DV is offline Associate Member
    I think weight training makes me a better striker/grappler. It's a lot easier to take some down when your weighing 235 instead of 185

yannick32 is offline Associate Member