Squatman51 is offline Senior Member

Korean martial arts

I will be attending college this year and there is a club called korean martial arts... anyone know what this would be like???

ginkobulloba is offline Senior Member
    Most likely a lot of Tae Kwon Do, maybe some Kook Sool Won. I lived in Korea for 15 months, competed in TKD, but as far as martial arts go, it's a bit dull. That's just my opinion.

yannick32 is offline Associate Member
    TKD is really cool to practice but has far has street fighting and defense goes its not that good.

Did it for over 7 years. The counter back kick can come in very handy LOL.

Outlawtorn099 is offline New Member
    I've been doing TKD for 13 years about and it has been really beneficial to my overall fighting style. It's made me flexible and has given me great foot speed. However, I would suggest also taking wrestling or jui jitsu and boxing along with it in order to become a more well rounded fighter.

yea i plan to wrestle also... i wrestled in high school and i fell in love with it my junior and senior year...especially senior year except for the heartbreaking finish

savax is offline Associate Member
    I've down TKD and Hapkido, have a black in both. Not impressed with the art when applied to the streets. Take something more practical like Muay thai, boxing, wrestling, BJJ

Bjj????

ohh nvm jui jitsui

royce gracie is a cool guy, he came to our school for like a week and he trained our local police in our wrestling room. Our wrestling coach took gracie down twice with an ankle pick and then gracie was like "you shouldnt have done that" and made him tap in a few seconds with an ankle lock

savax is offline Associate Member
    Hahha. Royce is the man! But yeah, i hate to be so blunt, but the Korean arts kinda suck. they are very cocky about their styles but i don't think they're practical unless you're fighting some drunk who doesn't know what he's doindg