Papi93 is offline AR VET

Roundhouse Kick - Shin or Top of Foot?

In TKD, the roundhouse kick uses the top of the foot. Muay Thai uses the shin, from what I have read. Do they use the flat part of the tibia or the anterior tibialis muscle to land the kick? When hitting the heavy bag, I've found you can really generate a lot of power when using the instep. Of the various arts, what technique for the roundhouse kick is the most effective?
    Thanks!

billy_ba is offline Associate Member
    using the instep can generate more power but it can also rish you breaking your ankle. If you dont believe me, kick a heavy bag with your instep and notice how much your foot bends back your ankle. On a harder kick you can hurt yourself pretty bad. I have done this before when I was a newb at upfighting. Also if someone blocks the kick with their elbow, you can break the little bones on the top of your foot. This is why I always try to hit with the lower part of the shin on headkicks.

Papi93 is offline AR VET
    Quote Originally Posted by billy_ba
    using the instep can generate more power but it can also rish you breaking your ankle. If you dont believe me, kick a heavy bag with your instep and notice how much your foot bends back your ankle. On a harder kick you can hurt yourself pretty bad. I have done this before when I was a newb at upfighting. Also if someone blocks the kick with their elbow, you can break the little bones on the top of your foot. This is why I always try to hit with the lower part of the shin on headkicks.
    Thanks for the info! Are you hitting with flat lower part of the tibia?

sonar1234 is offline Banned
    Chin, top of the foot dont really do nothing

Papi93 is offline AR VET
    Quote Originally Posted by sonar1234
    Chin, top of the foot dont really do nothing
    Chin? I'm assuming you meant shin. That's with the lower flat part of the tibia bone, correct?

Heavy bag work would be the best way of toughening the shin, wouldn't it?