Muscle_4_Hire is offline Associate Member

Motivation to Fight

I've been sitting on the sidelines for about 3 months, watching UFC on Spike TV, Pride fights online, going to sherdog.net... I'm trying to decide if I want to start mixed martial arts fighting... I mean I love watching it, the submission holds, combination strikes, etc etc... its more about the fight than the knockouts. I've done powerlifting/bodybuilding for about 3 years now and I've gotten as hardcore as somebody can get (think getting kicked out for doing huge deadlifts and puking on a consistent basis on my compound lifts.) I like it intense. However, MMA is so fuvckin hardcore sh-- and its all new to me so I'm overwhelmed...
    If I ever did MMA, I wouldn't want to give up my powerlifting/bodybuilding, I would want my weight training to supplement my MMA training. So, I'm going on a cycle from Feb to April and was thinking of starting MMA in May. But as for now I'm still really thinking long and hard if this is something I want to do or not.

So... what started you guys on MMA and what motivated you at first to go do it? What keeps you goin?

I am in the same situation you are in, except I have been doing a little jiu jitsu. I will tell you that through bodybuilding I have gotten really strong muscles and really weak joints...in other words the weightlifting has made me injury prone...fukin shoulders are a big problem for me. To avoid injuries you would really have to modify your training. What are your stats?

As of 1-29-06, I'm 200 lbs @ 13.8 % bodyfat with 27.9 my BMI. I've had a hairline fracture in my left arm so only done lower body in the past 4 weeks but its 99% healed up so I can start my cycle this coming Monday. I do mainly heavy compounds, so this actually works out to strengthen my joints.

Quote Originally Posted by Muscle_4_Hire