Thread: cross country

bulldawg_28 is offline Senior Member

cross country

Hey guys, do any of you run cross country? Or some kind of distance running in track? My gf needs some advice on training, diet, supplementation, etc for next year's cross country season. Thanks!

For supplements I was thinking CEE, citrulline malate, b12, and a multi-v. Does anybody else have any suggestions for her diet?

Endurance is offline Associate Member
    I was a CC runner in high school. The normal endurance athlete eats (as you probably know) lots of carbs. the 40 30 30 diet always seems to work. Depends on how many miles she is going to log a week, how old she is, how much she weighs etc. ive run anywhere from 25mpw to 112mpw at my peak in college so it varies. Need some more info.

LL08 is offline Member
    OK training wise I've got a lot of experience with this. I've been nationally ranked xc since I can remember, hate it though hence I've taken up track and now I can't run xc for f^%*. Ah well. I'd say supps def L-Glutamine, Multi V's, B12 might be overkill. Creatine can help in the pre-season with interval training but not needed.

Now before I talk about actual running the following I've done with several Olympic athletes. hard to describe in words but I will try. Exercise 1) stand upright with weight on the ball of your feet not on your toes. now lift either foot off the ground and make a right angle with your knee and midsection. keep this position and do 50 squats keeping your shoulders held low. repeat on the other side. You want to minimise movement except the lateral movement and make the squats fuller as you get more balance and control.

As well as this get her to lye down on her back - and no i wasn't thinking that...Now do leg raises when she gets stronger add leg weights and build the number upto 50. This will increase stride length through higher knee lift each stride.