BigGreen is offline Anabolic Member

Dieting Down Issues...a likely culprit?

Okay, my "history" is that of a VERY skinny individual when I started training (165 @ 6'1") and I have, in the last two years, been able to peak at an offseason weight of about 250 pounds. Possibly as a result of my history as a skinny person, I can do so while retaining an incredible amount of definition in the limbs, though i smooth out somewhat in the torso...something I can easily live with. I imagined that my ability to get to a decent weight without throwing on layers of fat would make dieting down somewhat easier than it might be for some of my buddies who bulk up to 80 pounds over contest weight. This year, i started dieting down for a show at 10 weeks out with the hopes of going from 250 to 220 (give or take a pound or two on either side). The first four weeks went incredibly well, losing 3 pounds per week as planned. After that, however, the proverbial shit hit the fan. Muscle was literally melting off as fast as fat, and any attempt to slow the process down really blurred my definition.

I was using an ECA stack as well as cytodyne's thermongenic MRP. Carbs were being cycled at 50 grams per day for two days, then bumping up to 250 grams or so every third day in an attempt to keep my body believing carbs could be used as fuel without sending me out of whack. This was my first attempt at competing, and i ended up withdrawing when i weighed in week before at 207 looking far more like an abercrombie boy than a bodybuilder I know this is a vague description...but is there a likely culprit when this occurs to someone? I was incredibly dissapointed and hope to remedy this for the next go around (not till next year). Any thoughts?

Gene is offline Associate Member