Pheedno is offline Respected Member

Cycling during a comp

Have or Do any of you compete when your smack dab in the middle of a cycle?

I have a rather long cycle that I'm itchin to start next month, but at the same time I'm starting pre-contest for a Nov show(my first). Roughly 18wks untill show from July
    Cycle I'm itchin on is 27wks

Now this is discouraging

C'mon peoples, lets be warm and fuzzy and share

BUMP

BIG TEXAN is offline Respected Member
    I have no show experience as of yet Pheedno, but I remember reading on here some guys do and some don't. A few people I've known that do compete have complained of looking bloated while on stage that were still on gear of the time of the show. I'll bump ya for more knowledgable brothers. Oh, good luck and keep us updated on your prep.

roidmanraging is offline Junior Member
    pulling no punches here, an 18 week cycle is ridiculous while a 27 weeker is absolutely insane. Personally, I believe that precontest prep cycles, which should be longer than most cycles, should last between 8-12 weeks. 12 when you are preparing for a high level show like the USA's or the nationals.

Basically your body stops making gains dramatic gains between the 6-8week mark. Here is where you start getting diminished returns. You want my advice, take the gear that you have with the 18 weeks you have and break it down into 3 6 week sections. Run a 6 week on, 6 weeks off, 6 weeks on. After the comp you will retain almost all of your gains and won't be so catabolic that you lose everything.

As for doing a cycle through a comp, there is nothing wrong with that. Just make sure it's inline with your goals. Whatever you do, don't run a 27 weeker. Most pro's don't even stay on gear that long. During Cutlers run of comps earlier this year he started getting gyno pretty bad due to having to stay on full time. Play it smart.

Originally posted by roidmanraging