Sage is offline Anabolic Member

Windows XP-vs-2000

here is the deal...

a friend build me a custom computer with XP operating system running just fine. I am taking MCSE classes and need to downgrade the operating system
    to:
    1)Window 2000 Proffesional (partition)
    2)Windows 2000 Server (partition)

becasue thats what i am studying and have labs on.

The two CD's that {Proffesional /Server 2000} i cannot install on the XP operating system because i get the message that "the CD's are the older version compare to the one i am currently using and therefore setup is automatically disabled"
    i cannot take the XP off my computer at all, do i have to call that bro and get the XP CD so i can get into insallation module and delete the partition that way?

the computer will not directly boot from either of the CDs and goes straight into WindowsXP

I've been messing with it all night and came up with nottn...
    any1 know how to solve this....????
    Last edited by Sage; 10-04-2004 at 10:39 PM.

KeyMastur is offline VET
    use fdisk - it'll clear off a partition (basically erase a drive)

Quote Originally Posted by KeyMastur
    use fdisk - it'll clear off a partition (basically erase a drive)
    erasing the entire drive is what i am after and start fresh....how can i create the fdisk....it would help me out tremedously

PiecinItUp is offline Member
    Have you tried booting the computer from the Windows Pro and Server disks, this should pop up the setup dialoge and you should be able to delete the Windows XP installation and reinstall Pro and Server on two sep. partitions

Quote Originally Posted by PiecinItUp
    Have you tried booting the computer from the Windows Pro and Server disks, this should pop up the setup dialoge and you should be able to delete the Windows XP installation and reinstall Pro and Server on two sep. partitions