MBaraso is offline Retired Mod

Reinstalling Windows 98

I do part time computer repairs on the side and I have to reinstall this person's system that uses windows 98
    Anyway...I have never done this before, as they did not teach us this in college so can anyone give me any helpful tips or links that will show me exactly how to do this?
    I googled it and found many different ways to do this so i'm looking for an easy, fast way to do this without too many problems.
    Thanks,

inheritmylife is offline Anabolic Member
    Quote Originally Posted by MBaraso
    I do part time computer repairs on the side and I have to reinstall this person's system that uses windows 98
    Anyway...I have never done this before, as they did not teach us this in college so can anyone give me any helpful tips or links that will show me exactly how to do this?
    I googled it and found many different ways to do this so i'm looking for an easy, fast way to do this without too many problems.
    Thanks,

I'd go straight to the source: Microsoft.com.

Are you reinstalling from floppy disk or CD-Rom? The only thing that I can think of that would help is, if you are booting from CD-ROM, you'll need to F12 at start-up and set the boot drive to D :

Otherwise, the reinstalation disks should guide you through startup. The only decision you may need to make is whether to use FATs or NTFS filing system.

jmt
    jmt is offline Associate Member
    98? Why not upgrade it to XP?

If the computer is that FUBARed, you might need to format the hard drive. All of it can be done through Windows.

Quote Originally Posted by jmt
    98? Why not upgrade it to XP?

If the computer is that FUBARed, you might need to format the hard drive. All of it can be done through Windows.
    They don't wanna buy another computer untill xmas