dominick0205 is offline New Member

computer security field

Hi everyone,

I'm currently a UNIX kernel programmer at a software company. VERY boring....

I've always been REALLY interested in computer security and the thought of doing almost like internet police work where you would track down hackers and other criminals via the internet.

Anyone have any ideas on where to look to get into this type of work?
    And is it even possible to start without having any previous experience in the security field??

thanks
    Dominick

calidude is offline Senior Member
    Try to look on the FBI's website.

dominick0205 is offline New Member
    Quote Originally Posted by calidude
    Try to look on the FBI's website.
    yeah I had tried that. Not much info there. Even wrote them a letter since you can't email them and didn't get a response....

calidude is offline Senior Member
    sorry

JasonNew-b is offline Associate Member
    In my house, with my wife and my kids...and my dog
    JMHO, but its pretty dif getting started in that field without any previous exp.
    Your best bet would be to work on getting your CISSP cert. Thats a start. Once you have that you'd be able to show that you have some skills in the sec field. Then you could try for the SSCP cert, but I hear its one brutal SOB. Once you do have the SSCP cert under your belt you shouldn't have any issues hooking up with a sec firm.

Sicilian30 is offline Respected Member
    I would check with your local police department, we have a "special" division here that deals with Internet crimes, and forwards over to the FBI in most cases. That is one place to start.

fusi0n is offline New Member