jackofalltrades is offline New Member

need some help!!!

Hey guys, I found this board and thought it kinda interesting, so this is my first topic, and I apologise in advance if my questions can be answered in another thread but I am on a time budget, I am leaving for a trip the day after tommorow and won't have access to a computer for a week or two so I don't have a lot of time to sift through everything just yet, I just want to get on the right track before I go.

Basically, my problem is I want to gain lots of muscle, I don't care to be like gigantic but I just want to look presentable. I don't care too much about looking cut and ripped, it would be nice but one thing at a time... I just don't want to look fat and I want just a little definition, so I want it apparent that there is muscle there and not fat. Basically some background info on me is I am a college freshman, I'm 6' 2 1/2" and weigh 170lbs, and none of it is muscle really so I look pretty skinny, and what should be muscle is fat if you know what I mean. I try to work out on a regular basis, sometimes I'll go to the gym every day for an hour or two for a few weeks, then I'll inevitably skip a week and get thrown off, but this has only been going on for a few months. My diet pretty much sucks, for awhile I tried using protein powder and making shakes and drinking lots of water, but I ate junkfood too and eventually stopped the shakes before they could be effective. I have really good metabolism, I can eat whatever I want until I get full and not really gain any weight but still what I do have is fat, if that matters in helping me at all.