Thread: When to Eat?

BigJames is offline Senior Member

When to Eat?

I have been researching "what" to eat for a while now and I feel that I am getting a pretty good grasp on what to eat and what to avoid...

I am having a hard time figuring out how to fit the right foods / supplements into my schedule. I train first thing in the morning (6:45am, 6 days a week; 4 with weights, 2 cardio) and this is not flexible due to family obligations (my wife trains when I get home from work and I take the kids). I will list my average/ideal daily diet plan below and will accept any and all critiques...I only ask that you go easy on me as I am very new to clean diets.

6:00am: Whey protein shake and serving of oatmeal

6:45am - 8:00am: TRAINING

8:10am: Post Workout Shake - 50 grams whey protein with skim milk and glutamine.

11:00am or 12:00pm: Lunch - 40grams protein with carbs (2 tuna sandwiches or pasta with chicken ofr example)

2:00pm or 3:00pm: Protein Shake - 50 grams whey protein with glutamine

6:00pm: Dinner - 40 grams of protein with carbs (steak and potatos or chicken and rice for example)

9:00pm: Shake - 40 grams of protein (low carbs) and some low fat cottage cheese.

I guess my real questions are around when and what exactly to aim for before and after my training. Any help is appreciated.

bump...anyone?

JdFlex is offline Senior Member
    I'm no diet expert but I'll give you my $0.02. What are your goals with this diet? Bulk/cut/maintain? I would suggest eating every 3 hours. It is especially important to consume protein every 3 hours. I eat at 7am, 10am, 1pm, 4pm, 7pm, 10pm.