My guide to cutting up

I am by no means an expert nor do I have the credentials of a degree or certification in the exercise or nutrition field, but through trial and error and dieting again and again I have found something that works for me. Now this is myself I'm talking about here, so I'll give you some genetic background first. I was always a thin guy until I was around 18 or 19 years old and had been lifting weights for a couple years. I used to race mountain bikes and my metabolism was lightning fast. I stopped riding at 17 because it was burning too much energy for lifting and I wanted size. But by 20 years old my body started changing and the metabolism slowed down, so diet became more of an issue to further enhance my physique. Nevertheless though, I'd still most likely be a slim guy w/out weights. The first secret to my diet is this. THERE IS NO SUCH THING AS PERFECT EATING. Nope, doesnt exist. Even if it's healthy all the time you can shortchange yourself, or overeat. To my knowledge, we have no way of hooking our bodies up to a machine everyday and having that machine tell us what to eat at what times or what we're lacking, the only way to truly gauge what you need(aside from a BMR) is by the mirror and how you feel. Low carb, lets talk about this for a minute. I have been feeling this trend lately w/ low carb diets, especially on the board here. But what is low carb? Is it 100 grams/day? Is it 200 grams/day? Who knows, it all depends on the person. Myself, a low carb day would be 200 grams, 300 would be moderate, I just train too hard for any less. However John Dough may need to cut his cabs down to 120 grams/day to see results. It all depends on the person. I am a huge advocate of cycling carbs, and cycling fats, and I'll tell you why. You need to keep your body guessing, it constantly needs a shock. That shock could be from carb depletion, carb loading, fat load, cutting fats, protien load, etc etc. I try to never do the same thing for more than a fe