Thread: Getting Serious

bc30 is offline New Member

Getting Serious

Hey all. This is my first post here because i recently decided to get serious about my lifting. I have been lifting since I was about 13 years old with my father who was a body builder in the old days. Over the years i have been lifting i never really worried about my weight, other than during wrestling in highschool. I have finally decided that I want to cut down. My father is 6'4" and about 275, and i am just over 6 feet and about the same weight. What kind of diet should i be looking for. I want to start the diet and lose like 15 pounds and then level off losing just a small amount a week. Back in highschool i did the keto thing to get down to 215 from 250. I ate plain chicken breast and tuna and lost 35 pounds in two and a half weeks. My first match came and i almost died on the mat. So i am not looking for anything like that, but something that will give me a good jumpstart and then a good follow up.

Thanks all.

Lavinco is offline Anabolic Member
    Lost 35 lbs in 2 1/2 weeks??? You must have cooked yourself in a sauna everyday or something!

Pretty much...everyday consisted of a three hour intense practice, followed by another couple hours on a stair master at the gym with a sauna suit, and then the sauna for another hour or so. Needless to say i was so dehydrated i fatigued within the first minute of the first period. Plus the only thing i ate during the day was one cooked chicken breast and a can of tuna. I drank lots of water for the first week to remove the extra salt in my system and then barely drank anything the last week. It was not a pretty thing. Doing that effectively put me out of comission for the first 1/3 of the season. I bounced back up about 20 pounds and then took that off slowly in the weeks following. It was my fault though, I wasn't disciplined pre-season with my weight. I should have started much earlier.