Thread: Soy Milk

2tuff4you is offline New Member

Question Soy Milk

What's the deal with soy milk? I have been drinking this stuff everyday for about 6 months. I hardly drink Skim milk anymore. Should I continue drink it if I wanna cut up? I switched because of lower carbs.

Thanks!

Pheedno is offline Respected Member
    If you want to cut, stick with water

SUPERDAVE is offline Banned
    i'm lactose intollerant, so i drink 2 gallons a week.
    i love the stuff. Tastes good

I heard it increases the female hormone, estrogen, which is NOT good for our line of work. Is this true?

gymaddict is offline Female Member
    maybe this will help --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Soy Protein and the Bodybuilder, Do They Mix?
    by Athlete, Todd Torns
    About a week ago, I decided I would supplement with a Soy Protein Isolate, but then was warned by many people of the possible side effects. I was very skeptical of the fact that Soy would raise estrogen levels in males, so I decided I would research the subject.

First I will give you all of the potential side effects associated with Soy. One of the main reasons why bodybuilders will tend to stay away from Soy, is its low Biological Value (BV) of 74, but that can be used to your advantage which I will get more in depth into later. One reason soy is so low on the BV scale is because it is lacking in the sulfur containing amino acid methionine. This sulfur containing amino acid is particularly important for protein synthesis/growth, proper immune system function, and the body's production of glutathione (GSH). In particular, GSH is also partly responsible for keeping low density lipoproteins (LDL), the bad cholesterol, from oxidizing and clogging our arteries.