BAOC is offline New Member

post workout shake and cardio

Hey everybody...first post on AR. Recently I started training again after a frustrating 2002 due to several nagging injuries. For the first time ever I am performing cardio immediately after my workout instead of separate sessions and wanted to get everyone's thoughts on whether to drink the post workout shake between the weight-training and the cardio, or wait until after the cardio session is completed (about 20-30 min. after the workout) to have the shake. I've read up on the topic and have found that there are many conflicting points of view. I also happen to have a vast collection of pro bb videos and noticed that pros are also divided on this issue. For instance, Jay Cutler performed cardio immediately after his leg wo in "A Cut Above" (unless footage was cut out of him in between). I've also seen some pros such as Cormier in the "Battle" vids do the same. In his video, Melvin Anthony is filmed drinking his post wo shake immediately after his weight training session and then he explains that he's going to do cardio after he finishes. I am more than well aware of the importance of post wo nutrition and didn't want to cheat myself in any way. What does everyone on this board do (about post workout nutrition) who performs cardio after their wo? I apologize if this topic was posted before, I'm kinda new here.

yellows2k is offline Member
    Personally I'd take after cardio cuz it's easier I can just down my protein shake with some simple sugars.

Big_Dan is offline Associate Member
    I dont have my pw shake after cardio, only after weights.
    After cardio, i have a normal whole food meal ASAP.
    Big Dan

Lostsoul is offline Associate Member
    Hmm i've thought of doing post workout cardio but i'm usually really tired and always SICK after a workout, i just feel like going home and downing about 50-60grams of protein.