I know what to eat/how much to eat..now WHEN do I eat

Like the title says. I know to eat an hour or 2 before my workout and shake RGIHT AFTER my workout and good meal an hour after that. But when is the best time to eat carbs? Fats?

I see some of the pros talking about "when" to eat is the key.

Anyone shed some light?

dangit is offline Member
    I'm not a pro, but I try and keep my carbs high in the morning and during the day and try not to have any before bed time.

I don't worry about my fat intake since I watch what I eat and it should stay pretty low because of this.

Just a quick example of what I'd take in would be this:

7AM- breakfast- 100grams of carbs 40 grams of protein (orange juice, oatmeal, egg whites)

10AM - 100 grams of carbs 40 grams of protein(potatoes, greens, chicken breast)

1PM - 100 grams of carbs 40 grams of protein (same as above)

3PM - workout with 20 grams of protein and apple just before I go to the gym.

4:30PM - protein shake (40 grams of protein, 100 +grams of simple carbs)

6:00PM - super (oatmeal pancake, 40g protein, 60grams of carbs)

9PM - protein shake (40 grams of protein... no carbs)

might throw in some bananas in there and apples. If I have something real crappy for supper, then I have a protein shake with it.

That looks pretty good. Shouldn't you be eating more complex arbs before your workout?

BIG TEXAN is offline Respected Member
    I've been following the advice of a few guys on here and been keeping my carbs moderatly low during the day and all meals after myw orkout I increases my carbs. Here's a layout of what it looks like.
    Meal 1- 27g- carbs, 32g protein
    Meal 2- 20g- carbs. 72g protein
    Meal 3- 11g- carbs, 32g protein
    Meal 4- 20g carbs, 72g protein
    Meal 5- 44g protein (shake)
    Workout
    Meal 6- 60g carbs(dextrose), 44g protein (shake)
    Meal 7- 44g carbs, 60g protein
    Meal 8- 44g carbs, 60g protein
    Meal 9- 40g protein
    Bed