• 1 Post By Couchlock
  • 1 Post By Obs
  • 1 Post By tarmyg
  • 1 Post By Couchlock
  • 1 Post By Couchlock

Thread: Cutting When You're Fat

bossfearless is offline New Member

Cutting When You're Fat

I'm probably just going to get flamed and trolled for even asking this question, but since I'm lost on how to begin a cutting program I need to throw this out there and hope I get some decent feedback.

Here's my problem: I'm crazy heavy. My metabolism was pretty terrible my whole life and I've always gained weight shockingly fast. Recently I started lifting heavy and, for once, I didn't stop. I built a ton of muscle, outlift everyone in my gym, but I still carry over 120 pounds of fat (6'4", ridiculously broad shouldered, endomorph, can't get a reliable bodyfat %). Now I want to try to start cutting that number down. It's a huge project to try to take on, and I'm lost. All the advice out there seems to revolve around the assumption that you're average size and you just need to lose 20 pounds or so.

In the past the only methods that seemed to work were extreme dieting and endless, miserable cardio, and even then all it did was turn me into a smaller, weaker fat person. I need advice for how to structure a cutting program that will let me drop significant fat but preserve all the muscle I've built. Obviously crash dieting is out of the question, since that will only kill my muscle and leave me back where I was before. But I also know that "1 pound a week" isn't a feasible model to follow at my size and with my slow metabolism.

Has anyone had any successes at such a high weight? Does anyone know anyone in my situation who had a method that worked for them?

Couchlock is offline Banned
    Quote Originally Posted by bossfearless View Post
    I'm probably just going to get flamed and trolled for even asking this question, but since I'm lost on how to begin a cutting program I need to throw this out there and hope I get some decent feedback.