qwad65 is offline New Member

30lbs in 3years?????????

i was wondering if it is postible to gain 30lbs in 3 years.not fat but soild lean muscle.iam 19 and weight 170 at about 10%bf,i was hoping to be 200lbs when i turn 22 i dont want to take a.s until iam ,at least close to my goal and around the age of 24.i was just wondering if my goal is achevable and if you guys have any tips for me thankx.

MMC78 is offline Senior Member
    How long have you been working out?

If you're completely new to the game, you can put on 30lbs in 1 year naturally. If you've been at it for awhile, I think 30 lean lbs is very reasonable in 3 years.

Quote Originally Posted by MMC78
    How long have you been working out?

If you're completely new to the game, you can put on 30lbs in 1 year naturally. If you've been at it for awhile, I think 30 lean lbs is very reasonable in 3 years.

well i have been working out on and off for 2 years and i have 1 solid year of traning but not dieting,i think i have a good base.anyone else?

fyerstarter is offline New Member
    I certainly think it's possible, but diet will be the most important key.

A year ago I weighed about 195 with 18% bf and now I am 187 with 10% bf so that's a lean mass gain of about 8-10lbs. A lot of this time was spent cutting down too when I wasn't able to take in the extra calories needed to build muscle. Since you are already starting at a low bodyfat then you won't have to worry about that.

I think to gain that kind of mass you will probably need to go through the normal cycle of bulking up to some degree and then cutting down though, it would probably be pretty hard to make those kind of gains while maintaining your low bodyfat the whole time. Then again three years is a pretty long time.

My roomate who is also my training partner is a tall skinny dude, he started out at about 145 a year ago and is now 165 and has not put on any bodyfat at all, just muscle.

Quote Originally Posted by fyerstarter