OSTIE is offline Senior Member

No cardio after lifting???

Hi,
    I am fairly new to this forum, referred to by a friend. I have been doing some reading though as of late and have been noticing a lot of comments about cardio after lifting. Why is that?
    Also right now, I am trying to get rid of as much fat as possible before I try to pack on mass, so I lift 5days a week, then after the lifting, I usually do about 20min of cardio on an elliptical machine trying to maintain a heart rate in the high 160's, low 170's - 6 days a week. After the elliptical machine, I then either sprint( or run as fast as I can for how tired I am ) a mile or I switch it off by jogging a steady 4miles with a pace of about 8 1/2 min per mile. I usually do the 4mile jog 2-3 times a week, dependent on weather. I am a newbie to lifting/dieting right, so I am currently starting off by doing this fat loss naturally and take in good habits. I do consume atleast a gram of protein for every pound I weigh (210lbs.) and take in approx. 2400 calories a day. In combination to first question then to why cardio shouldnt be done after lifting, is this sufficient cardio to supplement my lifting for losing fat naturally?

Feel free to rip anything I said apart and suggest any tips.
    Thanks
    -ost

Yung Wun is offline Member
    try performing cardio in the am if u can on an empty stomach, bump the 20mintues to at least 45mins, at a low-moderate intensity, if u cant do it in the am post workout will have to do, juss make sure u postworkout shake/meal is right after.if u plan on doing the sprints, make sure u dont do it on a empty stomach, as that will turn into more of an anerobic workout since ur doing it till fatigue.keep up the 5days of weight training. and juss make sure ur diet and timing of it is in check. bodybuilding fitness forums hype muscle bodybuilders
    Last edited by Yung Wun; 08-08-2009 at 11:28 AM.