xenithon is offline Member

The definition of 'Low Carb'???

Hi there,

I haven't been here a while due to PC upgrade problems, but since I came back I have noticed a dramatic change in perceptions here.

About 6-8 months ago, it seemed as if a low carb diet was around 150g/day, a maintenance diet was 200-300g/day and bulking was 400+g/day.

So, I have been trying to keep lean now over the past two months or so at about 150g/day total (including all fruit and vege snacks).

Now, I see on the board that the majority of people consider 150g/day a tragedy, and that low carb works only if you are having 20-40g/day! I just wanted to know what exactly low-carb is if you want to keep lean muscle mass, not cutting, just lean maintenance and maybe a bit of fat loss from that nasty subcutaneous fat layer. Is 150g too much?

Thanks for any help!
    BTW: 185lbs, 8-10% bf, 5 days/week weights, cardio 2x/week.

beenie is offline Senior Member
    I have a lot of experience on this one. I do VERY low carb (somewhere arond 10g to 20g/day), and have lost some muscle mass as a result. I have also cut my bf% down to around 10% from what was around 15% a couple months ago. If you are not looking to cut and at 8%, I doubt you need to, 150g should be fine. The lower the carbs the more you cut. At least that has been my experience.

llbeastcd is offline Associate Member
    LI, NY... where it seems like everyone is on gear.
    There is major difference between the definition of "low-carb" and a "keto diet". Low carb is a level of carbs that you choose to set whereby you lose body fat, but DON'T go into ketosis.

A ketogenic diet, in comparison is characterized by definition as, "any diet whereby carbs are dropped below 100 grams" (L. McDonald et. al). Now, some may have to drop carbs to levels much lower than that to induce ketosis (here is where you hear levels between 0-30), but by definition, dropping carbs to levels below 100 will utilize some ketone bodies as energy.