jambone is offline New Member

Quickie Lab Check - AI?

I am on TRT 100mg Test Cyp per week, no AI.
    43 years old male
    This is not a full workup, I originally went in to get estradiol only checked, but doctor ordered a few other things as well. Here are those results with lab ranges in parentheses:

Estradiol "ultrasensitive", 19 pg/mL (< or = 29)
    DHEA, 441 ng/dL (61-1636)
    Testosterone Total, 965 ng/dL (250-1100)
    Testosterone Free, 151 pg/mL (46-224)
    Testosterone Bioavailable, 271.2 ng/dL (110-575)
    SHBG 35 nmol/L (10-50)
    Serum Albumin 3.9 g/dL (3.6-5.1)

Should I take an AI? Would like to increase free and bioavailable T.

I did have a minor bout of gyno (diagnosed) when I started lifting weights in my early 30's - this was over 10 years ago and there was no HRT or anabolic steroids involved. A few otc supplements I can't remember. I don't remember the blood results back then but I was not treated and the gyno (sore nipple) went away after a couple of months. I do have some fatty deposits under the nipples I believe are leftover from that though.

I have semi-recent other lab work available, let me know if there's anything else you want to know. May have an older result somewhere.

Edit: full disclosure, when the above blood tests were done, I was taking an OTC ai called A-HD. Was simply trying to avoid the sore nipple thing. Had very minor sore nipples 1 or 2 days per week when I first started the 100mg test program. So I took the A-HD.
    Last edited by jambone; 05-09-2014 at 11:40 AM.

2Sox is offline Knowledgeable Member
    You know the old saying, "If it ain't broke, don't fix it". Your E2 is well within range so from where I sit, you're a lucky man. LOTS of men on TRT would love to live without an AI and you seem to be doing just that. My advice; I'll state the obvious: Don't take an AI if nothing is bothering you and if you feel healthy.

I never heard of it but I'd be curious to know what's in this A-HD your taking.