zaarel is offline Junior Member

Depot dosing question

First let me say this is the most imformative board I have seen on GH and R3IGF-1. Awesome!!I have been reading up on the depot tyep HGH and was under the impression the 22.5 mg vial was plenty for a month (do understand some use every two weeks instead). That all makes sense to me on what I have read. But I encountered this article which I believe was cut and pasted from the Nutropin site that says 1.5 mg per kg of bodyweight? That would be way more than one or two vials of the 22.5 per month. What am I missing here? lol have racked my brain all nite on this. I am a newbie here and new to this stuff for sure so any help is truly appreciated. Below is an exerpt of the article I was reading.

"DOSAGE AND ADMINISTRATION
    The Nutropin Depot®3; [somatropin (rDNA origin) for injectable suspension] dosage and administration schedule should be individualized for each patient. Response to GH therapy in pediatric patients tends to decrease over time. However in pediatric patients, failure to increase growth rate, particularly during the first year of therapy, suggests the need for close assessment of compliance and evaluation of other causes of growth failure, such as hypothyroidism, undernutrition, and advanced bone age.

Once-Monthly Injection—It is recommended that an SC injection at a dosage of 1.5 mg/kg body weight be administered on the same day of each month. Dosages above the recommended once-monthly regimen have not been studied in clinical trials. Note: subjects over 15 kg will require more than one injection per dose.

Twice-Monthly Injections—It is recommended that an SC injection at a dosage of 0.75 mg/kg body weight be administered twice each month on the same days of each month (e.g., Days 1 and 15 of each month). Dosages above the recommended twice-monthly regimen have not been studied in clinical trials. Note: subjects over 30 kg will require more than one injection per dose.