Mr. Sparkle is offline Slinabolic Vet / Retired

Question How would I know MY insulin sensitivity?

I keep reading that your dose is contingant upon your insulin sensitivity... but how would I found out what mine is? I am currently using 10ius PWO with 8g of carbs per IU. I monitor my blood very often, and no complaints here. Soon I my comparison of my BG levels of PWO with slin and PWO with out, with the same diet of course. Anyway I have read where 10ius is plenty for muscle growth.... But there is an occasional few that go up to 20 ius... and everything in between.... So what do I need to know about insulin sensitivity?

bluethunder is offline Anabolic Member
    I am no expert in insulin use (never took it as of yet)but insulin resistance is the ability or inabilty to use/dispose glucose in the liver and other tissues such as skelatal muscles. If you have to keep increasing insulin levels with a decrease result/responsivness (growth) then maybe you have a sensitivity issue. I beleive the end result is you will have a much higher BG level. Type 2 diabetes can result and extra fat storage as there is a correlation in obesity & insulin resistance. R-ALA can help with sensitivity to allow tissues to respond & uptake the glucose. If you are responding with 10iu's I am not sure why you would wish to increase to 20? Taking a higher iu as I know it is a tell-tale sign of insulin resistance(less sensitivity). Perhaps bump for a better clarification..
    Last edited by bluethunder; 12-24-2004 at 07:45 AM. Reason: spelling

Mr. Sparkle is offline Slinabolic Vet / Retired
    Quote Originally Posted by bluethunder