Thread: Good news!

don anabolico is offline Associate Member

Good news!

well i am a vet off of elitefitness.com , and after a whole lot of **** thats been going down, especially today, i might just join you guys for good.
    here's a little post to wet your taste buds..

IGF-1 : receptor grade vs media grade

There is an ongoing debate on the difference in quality b/w RG and MG IGF (GFL). I'd like to put it to bed once and for all, as it's a question I get asked regularly.

To put it simply, the use and expense of RG IGF is wasted on most research, especially the kind that is likely to be done by members here. RG is for very specific methodologies of research requiring EXACTING tolerances to reduce variables in the experimentation process - specifically, mostly in the area of immunohistochemistry. (We're talking on the microscopic level within serum-free or reduced-serum culture media).

MG IGF is a lesser expensive form of the exact same product with the same purity standard. MG is also for precise experimentation but designed as a more affordable alternative for use in experiments not demanding the exacting tolerances necessitating RG. (1)

Here is the info directly from the manufacturer's (and patent holder's) website:

Human LONG™R³IGF-I (Media Grade)

Purity: > 85 % (by N-terminal sequence analysis)

Molecular Weight: 9110 +/- 2 daltons – confirmed by Mass Spectrometry

N-terminal sequence analysis: 18 residues > 95 % single sequence

Biological Activity: Type 1 IGF receptor binding assay: ED50 > 15 ng/ml
    IGF binding protein assay: ED50 > 200 ng/ml
    Stimulation of protein synthesis in rat L6 myoblasts: ED50 < 10 ng/ml

Endotoxin: < 0.1 EU/µg

Human LONG™R³IGF-I (Receptor Grade)

Purity: >95 % (by HPLC and N-terminal sequence analysis)

Molecular Weight: 9111 daltons – confirmed by Mass Spectrometry

N-terminal sequence analysis: 18 residues > 95 % single sequence

Biological Activity: Type 1 IGF receptor binding assay: ED50 > 15 ng/ml