power65 is offline Associate Member

Controversy About Records

OK. I know this is going to rattle a few chains, I'm not trying to pick a fight with anyone. So let me say that upfront. But I would like to know what you all think about this point I'm about to make. I've been powerlifting now and competing for about 15 yrs. Over this time it just seems like our sport has taking a turn for the worst when it comes to gear these days. Yes people are putting up much bigger numbers, but are they actually that much stronger? It saddens me to see all of the records of the past being shattered by all this "new gear". I know it's all just part of the game, but come on....this is getting a little ridiculous. I think there needs to be seperate records depending on what kind of gear you wear. Since it does make that big of a difference. Example. Bench Press needs to have two sets of records; one for double ply shirts and one for single ply shirts. What do you guys think? Be honest.....and please leave all egos at home. WHAT DO YOU THINK?
    Last edited by power65; 06-03-2005 at 07:25 AM.

Doc.Sust is offline Retired "hall of famer/elite powerlifter"
    Quote Originally Posted by power65