love 2 lift is offline Associate Member

Last week before meet advice for lifts

I have a bench meet on Saturday.

I did my first meet the beginging of last month and I was able to do a 375 <Never did that even in the gym 365 was my max > in the 220 class. I had only trained with a shirt for 3 weeks for that meet. I came in second place! I couldn't believe it.

Anyway, I was able to hit a 380 on Friday on my last set. Anyone have any advice for my final workout this week? I would like to do my warmups and go to 3 or 4 one rep sets with the shirt and do nothing else.

Thanks for any help. I have been bodybuilding for 6 years now and just wanted to change it up a little for a few months and try something else. The shirt is a lot different than body building.

My last meet I opened with 335 then went to 365, then 375. Any suggestions for my opening lift this time?

Sorry to ask so many questions, and thanks for any help!

Velkar182 is offline Banned
    I would go with 365 as an opener. Then I would go to 385. Doing 385 will give you a feel for the third lift. Since you've hit 380 on a final set, this doesn't seem out of the question. Depending on how 385 feels (ie if you explode right thru it) you may want to go into 400's (400-410). I have been powerlifting since I was 15 (8 years) and one piece of advice is that you want your total to come on the second lift. If you expect hitting 385, do 385 on the second lift. If you miss it, you get a second shot at it. The third lift, at least for me, is about buying the farm, if you know what I mean. Good luck!

Yeah, I went ahead and did one more bench session before the meet this morning.

I just did warm ups and put the shirt on for 3 lifts. I washed the shirt earlier this week to tighten it up and I could barely get 335 to touch. I blew that up and hit 365 next and then I went for 385. I was so pumped when I hit 385. I definitly am going to go for 400 on my last attempt at the meet. Thanks for the advice Bro!